2. Things that inspire me

I’ve been going through somewhat of a creativity drought lately. I’ve recently been able to get back into the place where I can appreciate other people’s expressions of creativity, but I haven’t completely gotten to the place where I can make my own. I’ve been able to randomly stumble upon moments of inspiration, but it has been a long time since I’ve had one of those I’ve-gotta-get-it-done type of visions. You know, the projects that pop into your head and rattle around until they’re fully formed and you can spit them out in one or two sittings?

Lately my head has been filled mostly of numbers and facts and maps and worry. I’ve been arguing both sides of the To Move To Texas or Not debate and quite frankly it has been exhausting. I’m torn between two things that I love and there’s no easy decision on this. Add going to school and constantly looking for a job on top of that inner turmoil and you’ve got an overworked brain and sucked-dry soul. That’s why I started this blog… I need something that will force me to focus on things that I love to do: create things, decorate, fashion, and so much more. I don’t want to lose that part of me like I have so many times before when life has become overwhelming.

So what do I find inspiring?

Strong women and men, bright colors, pictures of things I don’t want to forget, movies that make me happy or sad (or both), books that have characters that I fall in love with, flowers, and the things and people that make me feel like home.

I did make some earrings the other night. They weren’t much, and I’m not totally in love with any of them, but it is a start.

Leave a Reply

