7. Granny squares and future ambitions

So I was inspired by something that my friend (Heather of It’s My Life) pointed out to me via StumbleUpon to try something new in crocheting. I’d like to point out at this point that I am at best a crocheting novice and so the only thing I’ve ever been able to make is the odd scarf. I used to know how to make hats, but I have since forgotten.

The project that I’m hopefully working up to is an 8-bit Mario Blanket made out of granny squares. There seem to be a variety of granny squares, but I decided to learn the type in the tutorial connected to the blanket instructions.

As it turns out granny squares are pretty easy once you master them. I can’t wait to have the time to sit down and make a whole afghan of them!

Here’s my finished product:

 

Also, remind me to a do a post on StumbleUpon. I am obsessed!

2 thoughts on “7. Granny squares and future ambitions

Leave a comment