20. Assemblog du Jour: God Bless Netflix

I have become completely and hopelessly obsessed with watching things instantly on Netflix. Mostly I’ve been reliving my youth by watching entire series of shows I grew up with. First I watched about 7 seasons of Murder She Wrote and now I’m almost to the end of the last season of Roseanne.

Lots of things were unique about that show. Roseanne was the first show centered around a blue collar woman and her family. It tackled a lot of different topics that are still relevant (homosexuality, unemployment, depression, domestic abuse, birth control, abortion.. etc). Not only that, but it is a fantastic time capsule for the fashions of the late 80’s and early 90’s. But do you know what I am most focused on with every episode? Dan’s boatshoe-loafer-type footwear.

This man is the epitome of blue collar, why is he wearing shoes that are meant to be worn during one of the most expensive hobbies in existence? I love them and I have decided that I want my own pair.

Also in this Assemblog, I’ve included some jewelry from the House of Harlow 1960 line. When I heard that Nicole Richie was going to start designing clothing and accessories, I figured it was just going to be a fly-by-night endeavor where she would hire someone and then slap her name on it. I don’t know if that’s really the situation and I don’t care. I love the result.

6 thoughts on “20. Assemblog du Jour: God Bless Netflix

  1. lol, I’m thinking you’ve never noticed that those kind of shoes have been my dad’s favorite for like the last decade too. He wore one pair until the soles started flapping, and I’m pretty sure he still has the other pair.

    I’ve lately been desiring to watch Full House & have been watching Friends reruns 2-4 times a day. and I sadly ran out of episodes of my 1st 2 seasons of Perfect Strangers. Ooh, Boy Meets World would be fun to watch again too…

    • I never noticed that!! Your dad is my new fashion hero!! haha

      Sometimes it is just so comforting to watch those shows that take you back to a simpler time in your life. Sigh. If only Murphy Brown would go instant watch.

      • lol, be careful, he also wears cut-off sweatpants & rolls up his jean shorts for a better tan. Not to mention the t-shirts that he has turned into tank tops! My world is so blue collar.

  2. Alicia says:

    Lol, Heather, unless they changed it, ABC family runs Boy Meets World every weekday morning at 7 and 7:30. I used to DVR it every day and watch it after I got home from class. 🙂 quality.

Leave a Reply

